Testimonials

Laura Andromalos, MS, RD, LDN

Director of Education, Massachusetts Dietetic Association

“We were very excited to have Annette create a Leafy Greens Appreciation event for the Massachusetts Dietetic Association. Annette provided an engaging introduction to sensory science and our participants enjoyed learning a lexicon for describing a variety of leafy greens with an interactive tasting. The event received great reviews and it was an added bonus that the session qualified for continuing education units for participants. It was a pleasure working with Annette before and after the event and we hope to have to opportunity to do so again in the future!”

...

Praise for The Food Sommelier Podcast

  • Delish
    October 21, 2016 by Duffash from United States

    Loving the interview about water! Yes, water can taste amazing! Great info!

  • Must listen to to this show!
    September 19, 2016 by Erin Peisach from United States

    Packed with easy to understand and entertaining nutrition content!

  • My food inspiration!
    September 18, 2016 by SkippyJohnJones145 from United States

    I'm so glad I found this podcast as it provides a deeper level of food appreciation than other I've listened too. I'm now more able to eat mindfully and fully enjoy the food I'm eating.

  • Love of a foodi!
    April 24, 2016 by MattB4SBB from Australia

    It's awesome. Just awesome! All about food. My ideal place of relaxation!

  • Great for the Food Lover
    March 28, 2016 by BrandonTBM from United States

    The perfect podcast for any food lover looking to rediscover a new type of relationship with food.

  • Love it!!
    March 27, 2016 by Animartrom12 from United States

    Helpful, informative, encouraging, honest, reasonable... I just love how she delivers her information.. Not scary, like helping you take baby steps to a better you;-)

  • Instant Obsession
    March 24, 2016 by jlwolf from United States

    As a dietetics student, I was Immediately HOOKED on the Food Sommelier. Annette is a true inspiration for me in a fascinating field. The diversity of her guests are all equally as intersting and knowledgable in nutrition and the science surrounding it. I really enjoy the food reviews.They offer insight into the healthier menu options chain restautants offer but most of us overlook.

  • Making Food Fun & Simple
    March 9, 2016 by NutritionGenius1 from United States

    Annette has such a good outlook on food and brings on some of the top experts and movers and shakers in the food/nutrition world. There is so much to learn from all of her guests and even her own experience! You will gobble this up and learn new tips and tricks to incorporate into your every day life.

  • Great podcast!
    February 5, 2016 by DCulve from United States

    I LOVE this podcast! I love all things food and this podcast delivers. The interviews and topics are super interesting. I especially loved the podcast with the nutrition diva. Annette does a great job hosting!

  • More than meets the eye
    November 16, 2015 by Jmccracken01 from Australia

    This podcast is about more than just 'food'. It's about understanding the value that great food can bring to your life, your relationship, your vitality and your energy. While only new, I'm finding it insightful and interesting. Thanks.

  • Excellent Podcast!
    November 14, 2015 by Nehemiah7483 from United States

    Annette's expertise about nutrition and food is awesome. Lots of practical and insightful information about all things food.

  • Love it!
    November 14, 2015 by Britany Felix from United States

    I LOVE that she reviews normal restaurants instead of the fancy places in New York that I'll never eat at. This information is something I can actually use to help me choose the best place to eat healthy when the hubby and I feel like going out to dinner.

  • Great podcast!
    November 14, 2015 by ItsMeRD from United States

    Such great food info in here, just listening makes me hungry!

  • Awesome niche and great show
    November 13, 2015 by Podcast Mom from United States

    Love this podcast and learning so much!

  • A Tastey Show!
    November 13, 2015 by Cleaning coach from United States

    Your interviews are great and are perfect for someone like me who isn't a foodie, but wants to eat healthier.

  • Good podcast for those who are concerned about what we eat
    November 13, 2015 by HGCIII from United States

    Annette brings practical information to us on what and how we eat. The resturant reviews will save us time and money when eating out - and allow for great food. Eating wholesome and healty food at home or when eating out is so important for all of us. Well done - keep moving forward.

  • Great show
    November 13, 2015 by vwdieselnet from United States

    I really enjoy ways to eat better especially with my new exercise routine.

  • Man I’m hungry!!!
    November 10, 2015 by Alexandra B-P from United States

    Fun and lively show that makes food fun! The host goes in depth into food giving you a whole new insight to this exciting world. Love the nutritional touches. Overall - A+!

  • Awesome show
    November 8, 2015 by Aditya of My Seven Chakras from Canada

    Warning- don't listen to this show on an empty stomach! Loved the episode about Olive Garden. Brought back fond memories of the classic spaghetti nepolitana that i always used to order! I look forward to more 🙂

  • Great show!
    November 8, 2015 by Gene_HPLN from United States

    Awesome topics! Food is very important.. we are what we eat. If we don’t take care of our body, nobody else will. Good job!

  • Bon Appetit
    November 7, 2015 by Joel Boggess from United States

    We all need fresh ideas, relevant information, and steps for what to do next.
    Way to take action and make this show happen Annette!

    Joel and Dr Pei
    Husband and wife hosts of ReLaunch

  • Annette makes food FUN!!!
    November 6, 2015 by JeffStuart from United States

    This is not just some food critic. The Food Sommelier is on a whole other level. With her expertise and engaging interview style, Annette you will teach you to appreciate healthy food in ways you never new existed. Whether it's a simple mango, or an entire lunch at your local Olive Garden, you will learn that a meal is not just a means to fill our bellies, but can also be a nutritional experience to be thoroughly enjoyed with every bite. And despite the fact that she's highly-educated, and a long-time registered professional, this podcast is hardly clinical. Annette has done an amazing job at making sure this podcast is not only enlightening, but entertaining. Trust me, if you eat, and care about what you eat, you MUST check it out for yourself!!!

  • Speaks to my healthy sweet tooth
    November 6, 2015 by Danny Johnson -Flipping Junkie from United States

    I’m always looking for new healthy and tasty ways to improve my diet. This show is great and I love the way every episode is fun and engaging.

  • Nice Start
    November 6, 2015 by mdaciuk from Canada

    I like the podcast and the reviews of restaurants. Nice episode 002 and the content you provided. Never knew that about the Olive Garden. Keep them coming.

  • A+ Podcast
    November 6, 2015 by Gisele_Oliveira from United States

    This podcast is a MUST listen. I love the topic and as a busy person who is trying to maintain a healthier lifestyle this podcast is exactly what I was looking for.

...

Cheryl Anderson, PhD

San Diego, CA

Working with Annette Hottenstein and Sensational Sustenance is a truly wonderful experience. You can expect reliable, expert service delivered with enthusiasm and pride. Every aspect of our project was executed with professionalism, timeliness, and courtesy; and exceeded my expectations. I was impressed with the attention to detail and high level of organization and efficiency provided. I highly recommend Sensational Sustenance for all your nutrition and sensory needs.

...

Sonal Patel, MS, RD, LDN

Maryland Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, Past President

“I would rate Annette Hottenstein – as one of the best speakers I’ve ever had the pleasure to work with. I cannot begin to tell you what a great job she did for the Annual Conference of The Maryland Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics as an invited speaker. Her passionate delivery on “Sensory Science” kept the audience engaged throughout the session. Her outstanding address was exceptionally well received by those in attendance. I found her presentation very insightful and inspiring. I really hope I will have the opportunity to work with her in the future. It was very easy to work with her – she understood our needs and was a pleasure to work with – easygoing, professional and open. Annette gave our audience the tools to create and reinvent thinking. It was also great fun.”

...

Libby Mills, MS, RDN, LDN

Speaker, Author, Nutrition and Cooking Coach

“I had the opportunity to interview Annette for my radio show ‘Libby’s Luncheonette’ on WCHE1520. She was fabulous:prepared,engaged and upbeat. Thank you!”

...

Amanda Archibald, RD

Field to Plate, LLC

“Annette Hottenstein is THE voice health and nutrition practitioners need to listen to TODAY. By bridging sensory science with nutrition science, Annette is enabling practitioners to go deeply beyond the surface of conventional nutrition assessment and thinking. Annette’s Certification course has at last provided me with the sensory science I have been looking for to support innovative culinary and nutrition thinking. Bravo Annette!”

...

Isabel Nussbaumer & Erin Cooke

St. Paul's Plus School, Brooklandville, MD

“We wanted to educate our families as well as our staff on how best to meet the nutritional needs of our children and navigate the complicated world of nutritional labels and hidden sugars. We were able to review our school menu and study our food labels so that we were better informed to make nutritious choices. In particular, looking at the amount of sugar our children are consuming. Annette was able to begin a dialog with teachers and parents to develop a collective awareness about the food served in our building,whether it is birthday celebrations or special snacks, to strive toward healthier choices. Annette was friendly, approachable and very knowledgeable in the topic of childhood nutrition. We look forward to working with her again in the near future.”

...

Joan Hovatter, MS, RN, CANP, CCM

Health & Wellness Manager, McCormick & Company, Inc.

Annette’s professional mindset, corporate background, and elite presentation style mixed with her wealth of nutritional knowledge is a true recipe for success! We have had the privilege of utilizing Annette’s services here at McCormick and Co. Inc.. These services include: 1:1 counseling services, monthly nutritional lunch & learns, and weekly nutritional group meetings. We are thankful that Annette’s nutritional expertise has and continues to motivate our employees towards making healthier choices. Thanks Annette!”

...

Andrew Pengelly, Ph.D., Herbal Dispensary Director FNHAA (AHG)

Maryland University of Integrative Medicine

Annette Hottenstein is well known to me as a food and sensory scientist extraordinaire. At the Tia Sophia Institute we are most grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Annette on a number of projects in association with the McCormick Science Institute. She was our main contact and technical consultant for a collaborative clinical study in which she devised and arranged for the preparation of all test solutions and placebos. Annette also provided two sessions of sensory training for myself and my student interns. I believe Annette Hottenstein to have advanced levels of knowledge and professionalism in her field and great love for her work. I wish her well in her new endeavor, and I’m happy to offer my strongest endorsement of her services”.

...

Karen White, MS, RDN, LDN

New Market, Maryland

As nutrition professionals, we constantly search for new information to help enable our clients to make healthy food choices. Annette’s course opens up a refreshing new world of the senses that can help us better understand food preferences and what is needed to help our clients make dietary change. Each class is filled with so much information and references to help you research the topic further, that I find myself always looking forward to the next class. Annette’s knowledge and excitement for the topics are immediately apparent.

...

1 2